Deprecation of Personal Connect apps in Bitbucket

Bitbucket is deprecating support for Personal Connect apps on January 1, 2023. This is an uncommon type of Connect app that installs into a user’s personal account rather than the workspace.
Personal Connect apps are a type of Bitbucket Connect app that is installed into the user’s personal account - as opposed to the typical Connect app that is installed into a Bitbucket workspace. As such, Personal Connect apps ‘follow’ users around as they navigate content across different workspaces.

From January 1, 2023, Bitbucket will no longer support Personal Connect apps. Their installation will be blocked. Soon after, Personal Connect apps will be removed from users’ accounts. After this, the only valid Bitbucket Connect context type will be “account”.

This is part of an ongoing effort to give workspace admins more control over which integrations can access their data. Additionally, simplifying our Connect framework will help us create and roll out new features to customers faster.

If you’re an app developer that maintains a personal Connect app, we suggest converting your app into a workspace Connect app. This will effectively reduce the reach of your app to the workspace of the user, rather than any workspace that the user can access.

In order to do this, you will need to update your Connect descriptor to change its "contexts" attribute from ["personal"] to ["account"]. This change will then be applied to new installations of your app.

To apply this change to existing installations you have 2 options:

As a user, check if any of your installed apps are “personal” apps by navigating to your workspace settings > Apps and Features > Installed Apps. For each app you can see the installation context (personal or workspace).

You can also contact your app vendor to learn more about the recommended upgrade path.