DisplayConditions on Custom Fields in the create Issue View ignored

Hello Everybody!

I am new to Forge and I really like it so far. But there is one problem which I cannot solve.

I have created a Custom Field with the following displayConditions:

The problem is that this custom field is still showing up on every Issue Type in the create Issue View . The Issue Detail View works and the field is not shown there if not a Story or Epic.

Is there a way to fix this?

Another Question: This field is mandatory in the create Issue View, is there a way to make it optional only with Forge and the API or do i have to configure this field in the Jira Webapp?

Thanks im advance.

Best regards

Mathias

Hello @MathiasHausleithner,

Display conditions for custom fields can only control visibility on the issue view. If you need anything more, you need to properly configure screens and screen schemes.

You can use the validation expression to control whether a field is required or not. For example, this essentially makes the field required everywhere:

jira:customFieldType:
  - key: field-key
    name: Field name
    validation:
      expression: value != null
      errorMessage: This field is required

You can make the condition in the validation expression as elaborate as you like using the full power of Jira expressions.

However, if the field is configured as required in the field configuration, there is no way to override it.

Hope this helps, let me know if you have any more questions :slight_smile:

Thank you @kkercz for your quick reply!

I am still not sure if I understand this matter completely. My Forge App has two custom fields right now:

The first custom field was required by default and was already in the default Screen Scheme included. The second custom field was not included in the default Screen Scheme and was not required after adding it.