First time Connect App dev

Hi there
Apologies if this is posted elsewhere - I couldnt find it specifically.

I am a first-time Connect App developer and would like to know if there is a way to store a custom set of credentials in the connect app in our Jira Cloud instance.

Here are another set of questions that I am struggling to answer right now:

1. We would like the Connect App to create and update (or just update if it exists already) custom fields in Jira SD and Software - but the contents of the dropdown (and cascading dropdown) fields needs to be pull from our own internal REST API that is authenticated by the credentials stored. How can we confirm and ensure that the connect app descriptor file is not used by anyone else to install our App on there instance of Jira. I.e. we want to currently be the only once using our Connect App (for now at least) and not allow or have any visiblity to anyone externally

2. How can we authenticate and authorize ONLY our instance of Jira to communicate to our system and not any one else (for now)?

3. I believe the app descriptor does not need to be called atlassian-connect.json. Is that true? If so, are there any limits or standards on the name of the json file?

I am struggling to understand the following:

• Ensure our Custom Connect App is only ever installed by us and no one
    else. And not findable by people and web crawlers (for now).
  • Get Jira Service Desk and Software issue form custom fields to pull
    data from our custom app API securely
  • Where and how on our custom connect app / Jira instance can we we
    store out App API credentials securely and encrypted
  • Hide options in dropdown fields based on form types and cascade
    dropdowns based on our API data

I have already read quite a lot of documentation and watched the Dev Day videos but wondering about the security side of things initially

Thank you
Yatish

Welcome to the party
 :slight_smile: