Have you built internal apps and integrations for Jira Service Desk?

Hi Community!

I’m a product manager on Jira Service Desk, looking after our APIs.

I’m looking to speak to folks that have built their own integrations and internal apps to connect JSD with the the tools, data sources, and workflows that make your organization run smoothly.

We want to learn about the experience of customizing JSD, what worked well and what some of your key challenges were.

Thanks!

Amaresh

Hi Amaresh. In one recent project, a challenge arose from the fact that customers can belong to multiple organizations.

In real life, customers play different roles in different organizations; but in Jira, roles are associated with projects, not customer-organization associations. We wanted to incorporate specific workflow logic for customers with particular roles in the organizations linked to JSD requests.

We use Service Desk internally only so we have felt the need to make changes to the tool in some cases.

• Servlet filter to handle redirections when users click links with /queues/ or /browse/ in the URL –
    • If they are an agent, no change
    • If they have browse permission, /queues/ links redirect to /browse/ or /projects/ as appropriate
    • If they have neither permission, they’re brought to the /portals/ link in the Portal
    • Mostly we’re just using the PortalService/Manager and ServiceDeskService/Manager classes to check access.
  • Top-nav bar menu additions –
    • Requests menu like Issues menu, shows recent requests that you’ve visited and matches the Portal look with the badge showing open requests
    • Service Desks section under Projects menu, showing recently visited Service Desks and Portals
    • Mainly using PortalService/Manager and RequestService/Manager
  • Event Listener to manage Participants/Watchers –