Help Needed with receiving webhooks

Hi all,

I apologize for the newbie question as I’m very new to all this. I’m extending the getting-started examples for creating a simple connected app. I tried to register a simple webhook on issue:create. I can see a post event happening when I create an issue in Jira, but it seems I can’t handle it in my route.

my webhook is very simple:
“webhooks” : [
{ “event” : “jira:issue_created”,
“url” : “/issue_created” }
]

on my index.js, I was simply trying to do a console.log that I receive it.

app.post(’/issue_created’, addon.authenticate(), function(req, res) {
console.log(“webhook called”);
});

I was never able to see my console comment. It’s like my route was never triggered. Please help.

Hi @DatWebb,

I’ve tried to set up an app similar to yours.
Here’s my modules field in application descriptor which defines the webhook:

"modules": {
        "webhooks": [
            {
                "event": "jira:issue_created",
                "url": "/issue_created",
                "excludeBody": false
            }
        ]
    }

Here is my route, it’s a little bit different in that I’m using res.status(204).send() to return 204 No Content response. It shouldn’t matter in your case but it is a good practice to do that.

app.post('/issue_created', addon.authenticate(), (req, res) => {
        console.log("Webhook arrived.");
        res.status(204).send(); //you should always return a response after handling the request
    });

And here is a part of my output from the console:

POST /installed 204 27.729 ms - -
Registered with host at https://<redacted>.atlassian.net/
Webhook arrived.
POST /issue_created?lic=none 204 6.046 ms - -

How did I trigger my webhook? First I used npm start to start up and install the application on my Jira instance then I went to my project and created an issue which triggered a webhook.