How to access JIRA issues comments from scheduled job?

Hello. I’m quite new to developing plugins, so please bear with my ignorance.

I was searching for a while to find a way of scheduling a job in my plugin that runs in regular intervals. I have found that you can use the PluginScheduler class from Java API to do that.

What I can’t figure out is how to access JIRA content from the scheduled job ? Say I wanted the job to pull all the comments associated with specific project and do some processing on them. How do I do that ? I’ve gotten the job to run like I wanted, but it’s useless if I can’t actually get it to do anything. I tried to pass JiraAuthenticationContext with Spring’s autowiring to a class implementing LifecycleAware interface, but when I call getLoggedInUser() it returns null.

How do I get the job to do some actual work, like pulling comments, updating issues etc. ? Or am I terribly mistaken about my approach and it should be done differently, or not at all ?

You should think about how you want to get your projects and issues.

When you have a scheduled job you can inject e.g. the ProjectManager into this job and get all currently available projects by calling getProjectObjects(). Then you would have to iterate through them , find what you need and do you work.

When you know your project (maybe by key or by iterating) you could retrieve all issues for it using the SearchService. You can write JQL and search for issues. Again you would have to look for the issues you are interested in by yourself by iterating your search results. You could inject the CommentManager in your job, get all comments for an issue with getComments(Issue issue) and work on them.

Does this help?

Hello. Thank you for your answer.