Jira API Guidance for Integration with Bespoke Software

oauth2
authentication
rest-api
jira-cloud

Hello all,

I’m new to Jira and need some advice on integrating with our bespoke software.

What I am trying to achieve:
I am trying to integrate our website with our JIRA Cloud system. The idea is that that website will create issues directly into our Kanban board under certain circumstances.

The user submitting should not have to approve access to their Jira account as the request may be made passively by the site, for example, after x amount of time has elapsed.

However, I am struggling to get started. Specifically, I am confused as to what type of authentication is available and appropriate in this situation.

I have read the following links:

https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiraserver/using-applinks-to-link-to-other-applications-938846918.html

I think that I would need to use basic authentication and have a service user in our Jira system but I am lead to believe that basic authentication is deprecated, even though it seems to be the method of choice on the Jira API libraries that I’ve found on packagist.

I thought that applinks might be appropriate as it seems to support 2-legged authentication but it seems that they are only available with other atlassian products:
https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiraserver/using-applinks-to-link-to-other-applications-938846918.html

I’m not particularly afraid of the docs but I am really struggling to understand which authentication scenarios are available to me and, of those, which ones suit our situation. Could anyone chime in with some advice/direction (even if it’s just to confirm that I’m not missing something and that I should be using basic auth)?

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Hi @michael.mcgettrick,