Multiple Forge modules under Global Settings

Hello All,

Does anybody know what happens when there are multiple Forge apps installed in a Confluence instance, and they all define their own modules under confluence:globalSettings? Are menu items separated / categorized by app, or do they appear mixed? What happens when the apps define menu items with the same names? Also, is it possible to sort menu items other than alphabetically?

Thanks,
Gabor

What I found is that I’m able to install two apps that define modules with an identical label under Global Settings. These show up without distinction. Also, Global Settings modules for the two apps are mixed and sorted together alphabetically. Are there any plans to change this?

Hi @GaborDicsoMidori, my name is Engin, I’m an engineer in Confluence ecosystem team. Currently there’s no plan for it. If this is important for you, could you create a ticket here with some details why this is important. Thank you.

In concept, this problem is similar to a problem with Space Settings: Problem when defining two tabs under Space Settings

Let me clarify our problem and how we think it should be resolved by giving you an example.

Suppose there are 2 apps installed on a Confluence Cloud instance: App 1 and App 2. Suppose that under Global Settings, App 1 defines two modules titled “Global Module A” and “Global Module B”, while App 2 defines “Global Module A” and “Global Module C”.

What we see now under Global Settings:

1. There is a section on the left titled "Atlassian Marketplace" which contains the modules of all installed apps. In our case, modules of both App 1 and App 2 appear in this section, which is very confusing:

ATLASSIAN MARKETPLACE
Find new apps
Manage apps
App requests
Promotions
Global Module A (can’t tell that it belongs to App 1)
Global Module A (can’t tell that it belongs to App 2)
Global Module B (belongs to App 1)
Global Module C (belongs to App 2)