Permissions for dynamic webhooks in connect app

Hi, I am relatively new to Jira Cloud development and hoping someone can point me in the right direction… I am wanting to register a dynamic webhook that basically enables my app for specific projects inside Jira Service Desk. What is best practice for handling permissions for this type of scenario? How should I initiate dynamic webhook registration within my app for a project based on the user enabling/disabling this from the front end? Any help or pattern/examples would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Hi @MichaelMoriarty,

I don’t think we have any guides relating to this specifically. There are a few pages in the documentation relating to guides, patterns and tutorials, but none of them seem to answer your query:

The community may be able to offer better help for a more specific question.

Regards,
Dugald

1 Like

Thanks Dugald
When the user visits my settings page within my app, I need to check if I have already registered a dynamic webhook for their project and toggle the settings accordingly. It seems that I can’t initiate this check from the front end using the rest api ‘/rest/api/2/webhook’ … “only apps can request this resource” is the result I get when attempting this. Any idea how I can achieve this check from the front end?

1 Like

Hi @MichaelMoriarty,

You can make calls to the Jira REST API from your frontend using the AP.request JavaScript API, however, these are interpreted by Jira as if the logged in user is making the request so the POST /rest/api/3/webhook resource will return a 403 error.