Required Issue field not on create screen, but still blocks screen

Hello,

I’m an app developer.

I’ve created an issue field using “jiraIssueFields” module. I set it required in “Field configurations”, and added it to a transition screen that I show when the issue is done.

My problem is that while creating an issue, even though the field is not even shown on “Issue create” screen, I still get an error saying that the field is required.

What can be the problem and how can I solve it?

Thank you

1 Like

Hi, @roman2,

If the field is required, it needs to be set on the issue in all states. You can add it to the issue creation screen to be able to set it when creating new issues.

Hope this helps.

Cheers
Krzysztof

If you want a field to be required AT ALL TIMES, you should mark it required in the Field Configuration. This appears to be what you’ve done.

If you want a field to be required FOR A SPECIFIC ACTION/TRANSITION, you should mark it required using a Workflow Validator. This is what you are looking for.

Steven

I’m facing the same issue on jira cloud

This is NOT an issue. This is a configuration error. Fix your configuration by reading the documentation and using the right mechanism.

I like you reply but it doesn’t give me any further information.
I didn’t change the default configuration and it’s on cloud.
The only solution I had was to go to this field (already removed from my screen scheme) and to remove required field set on it to no longer be disturbed. I’m using JIRA for many years and this is a defect or an unexpected behavior as a normal user. Everybody is not expert and should be able to use it normally.
If you can give more information or links at your answer it would be nice.
Thanks

I gave clear instructions one reply before your initial reply.

Setting a field as ‘Required’ within the Field Configuration will make the field ALWAYS required, even on create, EVEN IF IT’S NOT ON CREATE SCREEN.