I’m the developer of a Git client for iOS (Working Copy) and I have a OAuth consumer to allow API calls on behalf of the users.
I’m adding a feature that requires the “pullrequest” privilege and changing my OAuth consumer “will require users to re-authorize your application” and this worries me, since most of the users will be using existing features when they are suddenly told that authentication isn’t good enough.
Ideally I would like to only ask the user to re-authorize my app when they actually use this new feature, since it will then be very clear that something pull request related is going on making it reasonable that the app needs this privilege.
Does there exist some way to upgrade the privileges on-demand?