What JIRA versions to support with a new V2 plugin?

Hello I am new to the JIRA development group and have been building a V2 plugin and will be looking to go live fairly soon. My question is how backwards compatible should I make a new plugin? I am using some of the newer features in the APIs and have it compiling and running against JIRA 7.2 and upwards. It looks like JIRA 7.2 was released in August 2016 which is getting on towards 2 years ago now. From other more experienced people in this area would that be sufficient as a start?

I have been looking for any stats that indicate the percentage of firms using JIRA 5, 6 and 7 but don’t seem to be able to find anything. Does anyone have any data on this?

@daveg_utingu, I don’t have any version usage data for you, but un general, my advise would be to look at the Atlassian Support End-of-Life policy: Atlassian Support End of Life Policy | Atlassian Support | Atlassian Documentation

As you can see, Jira 7.2 is the lowest supported version. Of course, there will always be customers who are still on earlier versions (I actually have a customer on Jira 5.x).

I would personally go live with your add-on and consider back porting it for older versions on demand. It is clearly a trade-off between the amount of work involved. If it is a considerable amount of work to add support, you can hold off until you receive a customer requests. If sales are going slow you might want to consider back-porting to advance your business. Otherwise, I would invest my time in adding new features to your product.

6 Likes