401 Unauthorized when making an API request

Hello, I am new to the Atlassian cloud dev just trying to make some macros for my first internship at a company.

I have the following index.js file and all I’m trying to do is display the title of a specific page in our confluence cloud.

import Resolver from '@forge/resolver';
import api, {route} from '@forge/api';

const fetchPageInfo = async () => {
  console.log("Fetch Page Info Called Now.");
  const response = await api.asUser().requestConfluence(route`/wiki/api/v2/pages/1121779764`, {
    headers: {
      'Accept': 'application/json'
    }
  });

console.log(`Response: ${response.status} ${response.statusText}`);
  console.log(await response.json());
}

const resolver = new Resolver();

resolver.define('getText', (req) => {
  console.log(req);
  fetchPageInfo();
  return "Hello World";
});

export const handler = resolver.getDefinitions();

I am getting 401 unauthorized when I make the request. I have tried forge lint --fix and it does not work no matter what permissions it adds to the manifest I can’t seem to get any data back from the API req.

Any help would be appreciated,

Welcome to the Atlassian Developer Community, @JustAnotherIntern!

I tried out your code, replacing the pageId in the REST API call, and adding this scope in the manifest.yml file, and so far, it is working as expected.

permissions:
  scopes:
    - read:page:confluence

After updating your manifest file to add the necessary scope, did you run a forge deploy followed by a forge install --upgrade so that the manifest changes would take effect?

Also, can you share the permissions you added?

Cheers,
Ian

2 Likes

Hey Ian thank you so much for getting back to me quickly.

You’re permissions work for me and I’m up and going again so thank you!

I was referencing the following link when building and was wondering if there was something else I should be looking at like where you found that permission?