Altering the Application Header

Hi,
I am very new to the world of development, but have strong technical resources to lean upon, but I am having issues locating the file on our linux server that contains the aui-header.

We need to add a navigation bar that resides on top of the Jira header, so that it aligns with the other applications we access.

I’ve played around with the example offered in the documentation and applied the html to the existing html from the Header and the appearance is exactly what we want. I just don’t know how to locate the source to make the change and load it onto the server.

Any help or “You’re an Idiot” comments are welcome.

Thank you.

I would be careful modifying the source code of Jira - you’ll end up regretting it when you upgrade the jira instance later (and have to remember what the changes you made were).

I would take a look at the atlassian marketplace to see if there are apps there that will fit your needs. If there aren’t then you can write your own app (don’t worry - it’s not that bad).

1. Install the sdk from Set up the Atlassian Plugin SDK and build a project

2. Then execute: atlas-create-jira-plugin. This will walk you through the creation of a very very basic plugin.

3. Then head into the src/main/resources folder and edit the atlassian-plugin.xml. You want it to look like:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<atlassian-plugin key="${atlassian.plugin.key}" name="${project.name}" plugins-version="2">
  <plugin-info>
    <description>${project.description}</description>
    <version>${project.version}</version>
    <vendor name="${project.organization.name}" url="${project.organization.url}"/>
    <param name="plugin-icon">images/pluginIcon.png</param>
    <param name="plugin-logo">images/pluginLogo.png</param>
  </plugin-info>

<web-panel name="My Web Panel" i18n-name-key="my-web-panel.name" key="my-web-panel" location="atl.header" weight="1000">