Confluence Cloud Content ID Semantics

As a Confluence Cloud developer, I found this documentation on Space Keys: extremely useful: Choose a space key | Confluence Cloud | Atlassian Support

This tells me that Space Keys:

• Are Strings
  • Have a max length of 255 characters
  • Are Immutable

This tells me everything I need to know about Space Keys and what I would need to store them in a database/use them in code logic.

I’m looking for a similar resource about Content/Page IDs. Haven’t [been able to find an answer] so far. ([CONFCLOUD-72640] Documentation of content ID semantics - Create and track feature requests for Atlassian products.) As far as I can tell:

• Content IDs are in general numbers (like 4030503), but I’m not sure how big they can be (can I use a 32 bit integer to store them in a database? 64 bit? BIGINT?)
  • Content IDs returned by the Confluence Cloud API are Strings. Should I treat them as strings, not integers of some kind (even though the content of the string is an integer, perhaps it won’t be in the future?) If this is the case, is there a max length?
  • Are content IDs unique across type (e.g. a blog post can’t get the same page ID as a page, and the same with custom content)?
  • Are content IDs unique across the entire instance (they certainly appear to be, don’t appear to change when a page is moved from one space to another)
  • [less important] Are content IDs unique across confluence instances? I assume no.

Thanks in advance!

I’ll also note that webhooks send content IDs as longs, but include an “ID as String” parameter. This makes thing murkier! Why would webhooks send me different data than the API??

Hi @kashev,

Thanks for your questions. Let me see if I can answer them.