Create add-on project

I am quite new to atlassian and jira. Just started my learning process, while I was looking to create and deploy a simple add-on using atlassian-connect-express tool I was stuck at installing dependencies for the project. A whole bunch of errors showed and all the dependencies were not downloaded. I followed instruction as per the document here
https://bitbucket.org/atlassian/atlassian-connect-express/overview

The npm-install command gives errors. And when I try to run node app.js command in the correct project directory it shows this error

C:\exprob\exprob>node app.js
module.js:538
    throw err;
    ^

Error: Cannot find module 'atlassian-connect-express'
    at Function.Module._resolveFilename (module.js:536:15)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:466:25)
    at Module.require (module.js:579:17)
    at require (internal/module.js:11:18)
    at Object.<anonymous> (C:\exprob\exprob\app.js:13:10)
    at Module._compile (module.js:635:30)
    at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:646:10)
    at Module.load (module.js:554:32)
    at tryModuleLoad (module.js:497:12)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:489:3)

Would be great if I could get some help. Thanks

Hi, @manosree. Please attach errors that npm install gives you. Error that you get when running node app is no quite helpful, because it’s consequences of installation.
Try this:

1. Try using yarn
  2. If it doesn’t help → try to reinstall atlassian-connect-express (make sure it’s global)
  3. If it doesn’t help → try to reinstall whole node
  4. repeat once from 1

Also can you show your package.json?

2 Likes

I should have attached the errors shown during npm-install command. Looks like I’m not allowed to upload any attachments yet, I’m just copy/pasting the errors shown in my cmd propmt. Also I’ll follow your instructions and update you.

node-pre-gyp ERR! Tried to download: https://mapbox-node-binary.s3.amazonaws.com/sqlite3/v3.1.4/node-v57-win32-x64.tar.gz