Our plugin sets up multiple custom project permissions so Jira admins can configure who can use the plugin and in which way they can use it. We got everything working: The permissions show up in the permission configuration screen and can be granted to whomever the admin wants, and doing so has the desired effect.
However, when the plugin is installed for the first time on a Jira instance (or after running
atlas-clean during development), the permissions are initially granted to nobody, not even to admins. An admin has to configure the permissions manually before anyone can use our plugin. This is why we’d like to grant the permissions to specific user groups by default. These defaults should be set when our plugin is enabled for the first time and should not overwrite any manual changes by an admin, even if that admin decides to grant the permission to nobody.
What is the best way to do that?