How do I delete a bitbucket file using REST api?

There is documentation for update and create new file into bitbucket.
Is there a delete REST api call ?

Thanks,

1 Like

Jenli,
Bitbucket server currently does not support deleting files using REST APIs. Feel free to open a improvement/suggestion.

Thanks,
Justin

1 Like

Im very new to the subject and i want to connect and retrieve some basic info using bb rest api via my java app…
And i dont know how to write the java app can you please point or notify any example on the internet if possible…
I searched for the topic and wht i actually found is developing add on service to bb…
Thanks a lot

@jthomas From src API Documentation:

files string
Optional field that declares the files that the request is manipulating. When adding a new file to a repo, or when overwriting an existing file, the client can just upload the full contents of the file in a normal form field and the use of this files meta data field is redundant. However, when the files field contains a file path that does not have a corresponding, identically-named form field, then Bitbucket interprets that as the client wanting to replace the named file with the null set and the file is deleted instead.

Is this a new feature since your reply? I’m currently trying to test this but having trouble getting it to work since there is no indication on how to delimit the files (comma? semicolon?)

1 Like

I also could not figure out how to separate files. Providing just one file works. So one workaround could be to commit deletion of each single file …

To delete a file you would pass in the name of the file you’d like to delete as one of the files parameters and not pass it in as its own parameter. It might make more sense how to delete a file if I first also explain how to add multiple files.