How do I send a Jira attachment using Webhook

I am developing an integration to sync ServiceNow incidents <-> Jira issues.
All fields have been defined and are moving in both directions with no issues.
I am having an issue with Jira attachments being sent to ServiceNow.
ServiceNow has an attachment api to support inbound attachments, however, I do not know how to setup the webhook to call that API.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

I think that an attachment will cause the jira:issue_updated to be triggered. You’d have to identify the attachment that was uploaded and then essentially download it using the rest api by using https://docs.atlassian.com/jira/REST/cloud/#api/2/attachment-getAttachment to get the locations and the other metadata.

Then you’d do a post (I think - I’m not a ServiceNow developer) at Product Documentation | ServiceNow using the metadata that you extracted from the getAttachment. In theory you could probably do a pipe in between the fetching and such.

Again - not a ServiceNow developer so I can’t speak to that side.

3 Likes

Unfortunately, calling the getAttachment only gets me the information about the attachment. ServiceNow is a cloud application and does not have access to the location of the actual attachment. I was hoping that Jira/Webhooks would be able to execute the post to ServiceNow. Or, that Jira would have a REST api call that would allow ServiceNow to retrieve the binary/byte array/base64encodedstring , etc of the file in the JSON payload. Receiving this would allow ServiceNow to attach that payload as an attachment in ServiceNow.

Well the getAttachement returns the url of the content location. So ServiceNow would need to request it and extract it from there.