How my addon can request JIRA to move a ticket on the flow?

e.g. from In Progress --> Testing programatically. Will associated dialogs be displayed automatically when appropriate?

You can trigger the POST /rest/api/2/issue/{issueIdOrKey}/transitions rest call. See https://docs.atlassian.com/jira/REST/cloud/#api/2/issue-doTransition for more info.

1 Like

Yes, and this approach makes me responsible of mimicking JIRA behaviour on transition - which may be arbitrary composite: displaying associated dialog, understanding which fields are in there and tackling with various types of input fields, etc. Since transitioning tickets is so common I expected some API that actually calls the internal JIRA’s transition engine to do the work for me, similarly to what jira.openCreateIssueDialog(…) API does in case of creating an issue.

Can someone from Atlassian chime in on whether functionality related to this is on the roadmap at all?
As a developer, I want to be able to trigger workflow transitions via the UI, without having to recreate the necessary screens. Ideally, just give me a way to pop the dialog that JIRA already has.

@ademoss We’re planning our work for the next few months and additional ACJS functions akin to jira.openCreateIssueDialog() including transitions is definitely at the top of list of projects we’ve discussed; however we have not finalized our plans so it’s difficult for me to say exactly whether the scope will include transitions and when it would land in production. We need to prioritize across all requested improvements in ACJS for JIRA.

1 Like

Hi @dmeyer, thanks for the follow up. Is there anything we as community members/developers can do to contribute to this?

Hey @dmeyer, is there any update on this?
Is it now possible for an addon to show the transition dialogs? Or do I still have to recreate them myself?

Hi @ademoss,

No, we have not made any progress on this.

Dave