How to show user message in ConfluenceActionSupport after execute()?

I’m new to Confluence plugin development, and also to web dev in general, so please bear with me.

I’ve written a plugin that adds an web-item to the page tools menu, by extending ConfluenceActionSupport. When the execute() method finishes, I would like to display a message to the user (an AUI Message would be nice). I tried calling ConfluenceActionSupport.addActionMessage() (and addActionError()), but they don’t seem to do anything. I’m running this code in atlas-debug. Am I doing something wrong?

Also, the action I’m performing doesn’t require any page refresh after it completes; I just need to display the user message. Is there an action result I can specify in the descriptor that doesn’t trigger an unnecessary refresh?

(Eventually, I also want to get input from the user in the form of a Yes/No dialog, as part of the server side logic, but I don’t want to get ahead of myself.)

As a web dev noobie, I confess that the division of labor between client and server isn’t entirely clear to me.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. TIA.

You’ll need to create your own view (velocity or soy) and then have your message appear based on that. This might be an older tutorial but might get you started: https://developer.atlassian.com/confdev/tutorials/adding-a-custom-action-to-confluence

Thanks very much for the feedback. The tutorial you cited is indeed the one I based my plugin on. I am currently redirecting to a velocity template based on the result string returned from execute().

But what I would prefer is to remain on the original page, and pop up a dialog box for the user input, and return a status message (a’la AUI Message) upon completion.