How to trigger a Javascript function through a form's POST method?

Hello there,

I am quite new to the Velocity Template / jQuery part, therefore I would like to know how to pass data from a form’s post method to a js function. In a plugin

I am trying to initialise a Banner which has its content set by the form. The form triggers an overriden doPost method from my servlet.

The doPost will then trigger a full page refresh, right?
So do you want to trigger this function before or after the refresh?

Or are you trying to avoid this page refresh?

Oh hello there, @tjoy

Yes that is correct.
Before refresh, it refreshes so the newly posted banner can be included after the refresh.
I currently have the user input in a variable called “bannerBody”, which is also available for my do Post method:

@Override
    protected void doPost(final HttpServletRequest req, final HttpServletResponse resp) throws ServletException, IOException {
        networkService.redirectUnauthorizedUsers(req, resp);
        System.out.println(req.getParameter("bannerBody")); // this prints out exactly what the user put in in Wiki format
        resp.sendRedirect("myPluginURL");
    }

Also do you know a good way to convert this WikiMarkup to plain HTML as well? Because I think that is what the banner needs.

If I understood correctly,
The best way would be to use WRM data: https://developer.atlassian.com/server/framework/atlassian-sdk/adding-data-providers-to-your-plugin/

Other (old) way would be to write the information in a <meta> tag.

Regarding the question about WikiMarkup, there is a rest endpoint called render that can do it,
I found an issue related to docs for it [JRASERVER-38731] Add /render/ to REST API v2.0 - Create and track feature requests for Atlassian products. , not sure if it is well documented

1 Like

I have managed to get the Method to trigger. Main problem was that I was using an <input> tag instead of a <button> tag, changing it made the method trigger.