Insight object field modifications

In Jira Service Management (cloud), we have the “Insight object field” that can be added to issues to reference Insight objects. For my use case, the field is missing one major functionality. The field can be configured to Field can store multiple objects but there is no way to reference the same Insight object multiple times in the same field. We would need this functionality.

What would it take to modify this behavior? Is the source code for the field available? Could I modify it for my needs? Is there any other approach I should consider? I have no Atlassian development experience, but I am a backend web developer so I have programming knowledge.

Any help on this will be much appreciated. Thanks!

@ArnaudMarquis,

I’m not aware of any way you can modify that field type.

All other multi-select fields that are similar (like user picker) are also “subset” selection, meaning a member can only appear in a set once. Can you explain a bit more about why the same object needs to appear multiple times in the same field?

@ibuchanan Yes, the use case we have is very well described in JSDCLOUD-10790. We would need to have “generic assets”, for example cables, printer toners / drums, and other small parts that don’t have serial numbers or other specifics. We would need to track, on an issue level, when we have provided the requester with for instance multiple items of the same asset.

The 2 ways we could achieve this that I could think of are:

1. To be able to reference the same asset multiple times on the issue or
  2. To be able to have “field collections” - that is, to be able to group the Insight object field with a number field that would allow to select the asset and add a “quantity”

I have been directed to the marketplace by Atlassian support and also here How to group fields together? but I have found no add-on that allows this.