Jira sidebar hamburger menu

navigation
menu

I’m writing to inquire about a recent change, we at Tempo, noticed on Jira cloud, where a hamburger menu was introduced to the sidebar, changing some of the navigation.

This has quite an effect on our products as it introduces an element that floats over into the iframe used by Tempo, decreases the horizontal space available to us and introduces a hover element that expands and covers our navigational elements. I haven’t found much information relating to this change.

Is this a part of an A/B test or a full rollout and update to the navigation that is here to stay. And if so, is there any documentation accessible on how you envision this change affects ecosystem vendors, best practice rules etc.

Are there any more updates such as this in the pipeline that could affect vendor products.

Hi @kristin,

My name is John and I’m a product designer currently working on Jira Cloud navigation and findablity.

The new hamburger was introduce due to negative feedback that was received regarding our previous collapsed sidebar (“icon soup”). This update will only affect users who choose to navigate with a collapsed sidebar. We have tried to minimise the amount of horizontal space we used but admittedly the new flyout required an extra strip be added to the sidebar as an affordance for our users.

This flyout has been designed to only cover page content while a user hovers over the new strip. We have also added a 250ms delay to reduce accidental activation.

Our updated collapsed sidebar was rolled out to 100% of users in late November and is no longer an experiment. Documentation is available from: https://atlaskit.atlassian.com/packages/core/navigation-next

We are actively working in this problem space and when we have further changes we will ensure we communicate these early with vendors :slight_smile:

Hi John and thanks for your reply.