The current behavior of a pull request is that it is closed after the branch is merged.
However, we don’t have the resources to review PRs in a timely fashion. We need to be able to merge branches into the dev branch and continue development, while retaining the PR to provide a code review before the next release. The default behavior of Bitbucket prevents this.
Is there a setting so that the Merge button merges the branch without closing the PR and adds a Close command to close the PR manually? Or closes the PR automatically after one or more reviewers have approved or all have declined? Or provides Merge Only and Merge & Close buttons?
Or is this a feature request?
Our current strategy is to create a temporary branch from dev and use that as the destination of our feature branch. That way we can merge the feature branch to dev manually. Later, when the code review is complete, we merge the feature branch into the temporary branch and then merge the temporary branch into the dev branch. This is a lot more work than it needs to be.
Can you recommend a better strategy?
We are using Bitbucket Server if it matters.