Recommendations for unit testing components from the UI Kit?

Are there any recommendations for implementing unit tests with Forge’s new UI Kit? This is easily done with a Forge Custom UI using React’s testing libraries, etc… Is there a comparable strategy for component testing with the UI Kit? (I’m assuming the React libraries don’t work with UI Kit…maybe I’m wrong? Sorry, I’m very new to this.)

Also, I fully understand that UI Kit is still in beta. Perhaps a component testing feature is on the road map?

Any insight is appreciated. The UI Kit is really coming along well, and I’m evaluating whether we can build our next app with it. Thanks so much!

2 Likes

Hi @AaronMorris,

Great question! I’m reaching out to the team for a recommendation here.

Will be back shortly.

1 Like

It’s taking a while :sweat_smile: - I was wondering the same, any way to test those UI kit components? @testing-library/react doesn’t seem to be working.

1 Like

Hey @DanielPlatas @AaronMorris,

Really sorry for not getting back to you. UI kit doesn’t have a very good testing story at the moment. We don’t have any official recommendations here yet, although this does seem to me like a key gap to fill as UI kit aims to get out of beta. I’ll raise this with the team and product manager to see where on the roadmap it fits.

That said, I just had a play around with jest, and managed to find a set up that I was able to use to write simple unit tests for Forge UI kit components.

You will need to add a babel.config.js:

module.exports = {
  presets: [
    ["@babel/preset-env", { targets: { node: "current" } }],
  ],
  plugins: [
    [
      "@babel/plugin-transform-react-jsx",
      {
        pragma: "ForgeUI.createElement",
      },
    ],
  ],
};

Run: npm install --save-dev jest babel-jest @babel/plugin-transform-react-jsx @babel/preset-env on the command line at the root to install the necessary dependencies.