(ScriptRunner) Closing a diaglog2 box after sending data

I am trying to create a Confluence page from Jira.

I am very new to HTML and Javascript. And Atlassian’s AUI documentation isn’t the best, and I cant really find any documentation on AJS. So I’m really struggling with this.

1. I am using a ScriptRunner Web Item Fragment, which shows a button on a Jira issue.
  2. Once this button is clicked I have a custom ScriptRunner REST Endpoint which opens a dialog box (called createConfluencePageDialog) where the user can enter the page title and page body of the Confluence page they want created. This is using the AUI Diaglog2 and AUI Forms.
  3. There is a button on the Form called “Submit” which sends the data in the form to another custom ScriptRunner REST Endpoint (called createConfluencePage) which creates the Confluence Page.

The issue I am facing is, the Form on createConfluencePageDialog has an “action” tag which sends the data to createConfluencePage, however, it also redirects to whatever is returned by createConfluencePage. If createConfluencePage doesn’t return anything, then nothing happens i.e. the dialogue ox just stays open.

But what I want to happen is once “Submit” is clicked on the createConfluencePageDiaglog diaglog box, the data in form to be sent AND to close the dialog box down.

What works:

1. I can create a Confluence page from Jira

What I have tried - all Javascript I have used is in HTML under the tag:

1. I have tried adding a Javascript that closes the diaglog box once the button is clicked, however, this just closes the diaglog box without it sending the data to createConfluencePage
@BaseScript CustomEndpointDelegate delegate

createConfluencePageDialog(httpMethod: "GET", groups: ["jira-servicedesk-users"]) { MultivaluedMap queryParams ->

// ... (Other stuff I am omitting as I don't think it's relevant - I can paste the full code of needed)

def dialog =
    """