Seeking clarification for design Guidelines for page headers

Hi,

I’m in the process of re-designing one my addons and I’m looking for some guidance as to how page headers should be structured.

According to ADG3, page headers should have a breadcrumb and title, actions on the right (same line as title), and filters below that (left aligned).

The thing I’m struggling with is… let’s assume I have a way to switch views from list to grid or details. Similar to Jira issue list. Where should that go? Where the actions are? Same row as the filters?
If same row as filters, what if I don’t have any filters on the screen? Would I then still keep the row where filters go, but only put something on the right for switching the view?

I tried looking at Jira Cloud and Confluence Cloud for reference, but neither of them actually follow the patterns prescribed in ADG3.

Any guidance from the Atlassian Design team would be greatly appreciated.

Hello there!
I’m an Atlassian designer in the ecosystem space, and I think I can help here :slight_smile:
You’re describing a complex challenge here (and a really interesting one from a design point of view :slight_smile: )
The reason why we’re not more specific in the ADG is because there are plenty of decision points where it’s about the context: some stuff that would be right in one page header, would be really counter-intuitive in another.
Ultimately, you need to find the right balance between discoverability (how much do users have to find those controls easily?), not overloading that area with controls, and making sure that users get what the various buttons will actually affect on the screen… not easy!
The general way we’re doing this can be seen in the main issue navigator in Jira (Go to Jira > Issues and filters > My open issues (or really any other filter)).

• General page-related button are on the top right.
  • Filters are in the row below, left aligned.