Testing APP with other users and send non-public comments to Jira Cloud through REST API

Hello, experts:

I’m making a .NET Core APP using OAuth 2 (3LO), and as far as it goes, I was able to search issues, comments and attachments, even I sent a couple of comments to an issue.
I’m a developer, and for testing purposes I registered the APP on my account, and I can see the issues of my company’s Jira. But then I needed to check if our costumers are able to see private comments on the issues, and when I tried to log in using a test account, I wasn’t able to do that: “this account doesn’t have Jira”, “you’re not the owner of the APP”… I tried a lot of ways.

I read this topic:

According to it, I can’t test it before making the APP public. Is that right? What about when the app is finished and I need to deploy to the real server with my boss account?

Meanwhile, I’m dealing with “non-public” comments on issues. There is no reference in the documentation about it, but I found that I can get if a comment is public or not checking jsdPublic field on load. I tried to use it to send a comment as private, but I wasn’t able to do it. Is there a field I can use to mark it to be readable only for developers and admins and not our customers? Should I use the “visibility” field or there is an easier way?

Thank you.

Hi @CarlosALpezOrtn ,

It sounds like the app is used in the context of Jira Service Management (Jira Service Management | A new take on ITSM software), which was previously known as Jira Service Desk.

In this case, I would use the POST /rest/servicedeskapi/request/{issueIdOrKey}/comment API (see here for its documentation) and rely on the public parameter to control if the comment is added as public (visible to customer/portal-only accounts) or restricted (visible to the users with an Atlassian account).