Why is `user` property missing in issue webhooks?

I have a Cloud app that subscribes to Jira issue updated and created events via webhook in the app descriptor.

After running my app in production for a while, I noticed that for a small number of webhook events the user property is missing in the payload. I see this happening for changes in different fields, e.g. status, resolution.

Does anyone know why that is and how it’s possible to do changes in Jira without a user? Maybe some kind of automation or workflow post function?

If this is known and the expected behavior I believe it should be clearly mentioned in the docs.

All documentation pages say issue related events have the following structure:

{ 
    "timestamp"
    "event"
    "user": {...},
    "issue": {...},
    "changelog" : {...},
    "comment" : {...}
}

and:

The user is always present in a webhook POST for issue events

Hi @tbinna - perhaps someone else can pile on if they’ve seen this, but I’ve been looking at my webhook payloads, and on issue updates (status/resolution), the user object is in there. Is this only happening on one instance, or are you seeing this across multiple tenants?

Hi @nmansilla, thanks for having a look at this. Unfortunately, I did not manage to replicate this myself as well but in production I see this happening for different tenants.

I’ll follow up with you directly by email for more details.

1 Like

If anyone comes across this post, I think I found a possible culprit:

If you configure a trigger in a workflow, for example, link a Bitbucket account and create a trigger “transition issue when branch created”. The issue updated webhook payload will not contain any user property.

This is the email notification that I get from Jira. As you can see the email says “Changed By: Automated Transition”.