Request for feedback: Jira/Confluence Cloud sandbox capabilities

Hi Atlassian Developer Community,

My name is Matt and I’m a product manager on the Atlassian Cloud team.

For those of you who don’t know, we launched our cloud sandbox experience to Premium and Enterprise customers back in October 2020. This gives customers the ability to create an isolated sandbox environment that can be used for safely testing and previewing changes. By default, a sandbox is empty when it’s created.

We recently launched data copying, which will allow customers to have a sandbox that mirrors their production environment as closely as possible, with a few caveats:

• Data copying for Jira includes all of the product data, excluding attachments and marketplace app data.
  • Data copying for Confluence includes all of the product data and attachments, excluding marketplace app data.
  • Data copying will fail if:
    • the uncompressed XML file size is over 20GB (applies to Jira only).
    • the production environment and linked sandbox are in different realms.

For more information about sandboxes, please read our official product documentation.

We would love to hear from our developer community on what other sandbox capabilities you see being beneficial. Is there anything you would like to see in the sandbox experience to make your apps more successful? Feel free to send me a direct message through the developer community or comment on this post directly.

Last but not least, there have been some questions sent to me directly from partners about sandboxes and I thought it would be good to reshare them for everyone’s benefit.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. How do apps get used and installed in sandboxes?

Sandbox sites work exactly the same as a production site in this regard. That means customers can install, trial, pay, and use apps the same way they would in a regular production site.

2. Are there plans to introduce free apps in sandbox?