Replacement of glance panels in Jira's new issue view

Hi everyone,

My name is Loretta and I am a Product Manager in the Jira Cloud Issue Experience team. Today we’re announcing an improvement we will be making to how content from apps are displayed within the new issue view.

What is changing?

For Forge and Connect ecosystem apps that appear in the right column of the new issue view, glances will be removed and replaced with collapsible groups (expandables). Each app will appear in its own separate group and individual users can expand/collapse each group/s (this selection will persist for all issues in the project).

Current design with Glances

glancepanel2

New design with Groups

addongroup

Why is it changing?

We’ve received feedback from our users that the current glance pattern makes it hard to find and update fields in the new issue view. The new grouping pattern has the following benefits for users:

• Makes it easier to find app fields on the new issue view
  • Removes the need to click to see the content of apps available in the issue view
  • Users who don’t use a particular app can collapse its group
  • Users who frequently use an app field can expand its group and keep it visible for all issues in the project (this persists at the individual user level only)

What do I need to do?

We will be providing a new extension point, the expandable API, to replace our current glance API for Forge and Connect. You will need to replace the jiraIssueGlances and jira:issueGlance module definition in the app descriptor for Connect and Forge apps, no later than 6 months after it is available.

By when do I need to do it?

We are currently spiking this and estimate that the new extension point will be available in April. Be sure to watch the Jira changelog on DAC for the official release of the new API and deprecation notice of the old API.

7 Likes

Are groups per app or based on some other category?
What will determine group order?